IN LSAMP > IN LSAMP Faculty Mentor Recognition

IN LSAMP Faculty Mentor Recognition

Faculty mentors play a significant role in the IN LSAMP program where it is our mission to increase the quality and quantity of students from historically underrepresented populations receiving bachelor degrees in STEM disciplines. IN LSAMP faculty mentors dedicate time and space in their labs to help summer, and on occasion academic year, research scholars learn and develop skills to conduct and present a research project as well as aid students in preparing for STEM careers and graduate school opportunities!

Read about our faculty mentors in the news!

Photo: Faculty Mentor Dr. Nathan Alves poses for a photo with IN LSAMP scholars.

Outstanding IN LSAMP Faculty Mentor of the Year Awards

In 2022, the IN LSAMP awarded its first Outstanding IN LSAMP Faculty Mentor of the Year Awards to recognize mentors for their exceptional mentorship qualities. Faculty mentors were nominated by current and former IN LSAMP scholars who shared how their faculty mentor supported them in achieving their personal and professional goals as well as helped them succeed in their college experience. Nomination forms for this award open in January and close in March of each year.

2021-22 IN LSAMP Outstanding Faculty Mentor of the Year Award Recipients

Ming Gao
IU Northwest, Department of Biology
“…Having Dr. Ming Gao as my mentor has taught me how to react and plan future actions based on the tribulations that may arise. Dr. Ming has showed me what it means to be a true scientist. He is truly a role model that I look up to.”
- John Eshak, IUN LSAMP Scholar
Maureen Rutherford
IU Northwest, Department of Psychology
“…Dr. Maureen Rutherford is a remarkable faculty mentor. Even after the LSAMP internship concluded, Dr. Rutherford continues to act as a mentor throughout my journey as an undergraduate. My experiences with Dr. Rutherford have been truly memorable and impactful.”
- Mercedes Andrade, IUN LSAMP Alumna

2023 IN LSAMP Outstanding Faculty Mentor of the Year Award Recipients

Deborah Marr
IU South Bend, Associate Professor of Biology
Dr. Marr worked tirelessly to explain important concepts and experimental techniques in ecology to help me understand our research. Dr. Marr was especially helpful in getting the poster creative and informative enough for the 2022 LSAMP conference where I received an honorable mention for the poster. Her dedication to STEM research and students' professional development is admirable and her efforts have allowed me to grow as a student and as a scientist.
- Marcu Bailey, IU South Bend Scholar
Mallika Krishnan
Ivy Tech Community College, Department of Biology
Dr.Krishnan displays a lot of things I admire. I first took her course last semester and saw how difficult the work was, but how great of an instructor she is for such a tough course. She is the only professor for Molecular and genetics but manages to personally get to know each individual and how to better break things down even if no one says anything, she simply will look and see any sign of confusion and will further break it down. She does this for several classes. I had her for molecular, with almost 30 students, including a blind student they put in her full class. I watched her instruct us, (with toys, songs and even Star Wars analogy’s sometimes) and still stop and personally take the hand of the blind student and guide his hand along a cell model she slaughtered after to teach him.
- Cieara Carpenter, Ivy Tech Learning Assistant

iupui lockup
iub lockup
iun lockup
bsu lockup
ivy tech lockup
iusb lockup