#HRD 1618408

NSF Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation

The Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) assists universities and colleges in their efforts to significantly increase the numbers of students matriculating into and successfully completing high quality degree programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines in order to diversify the STEM workforce. Particular emphasis is placed on transforming undergraduate STEM education through innovative, evidence-based recruitment and retention strategies, and relevant educational experiences in support of racial and ethnic groups historically underrepresented in STEM disciplines: African Americans, Hispanic Americans, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Native Pacific Islanders.

The Indiana STEM LSAMP (IN LSAMP) which consists of three research institutions: Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (lead institution), Indiana University Bloomington and Ball State University; two four-year regional universities: Indiana University Northwest and Indiana University South Bend; and Ivy Tech Community College Indianapolis, will work together to address the critical need of increasing the participation and advancement of underrepresented students in STEM disciplines.

To achieve alliance goals, all IN LSAMP partners will implement the following cohesive high-impact practices to increase the retention rate of first-year full-time students and to strengthen students' disciplinary engagement that leads to STEM degree attainment:

1) mathematical placement and online review support
2) summer bridge programs
3) freshman learning communities
4) peer mentoring programs
5) degree mapping
6) faculty-mentored research
7) annual research conference

Additionally, the alliance will facilitate seamless transitions into STEM undergraduate and graduate degree programs by i) increasing program activities for community college transfers and ii) improving undergraduate disciplinary connections and preparation for STEM graduate programs.

Alliance Leadership Team

Nasser H. Paydar, PhD, Chancellor and Professor of Mechanical Engineering at IUPUI, serves as the principal investigator (PI) of the project.

Kim S. Nguyen, EdD, director of statewide and regional collaborations, STEM Education Innovation and Research Institute at IUPUI, serves as a project’s CoPI and the Indiana LSAMP Project Director (PD).

Pamella P. Shaw, DMD, MPH, associate dean for diversity, equity, and inclusion at the Indiana University School of Dentistry, serves a project’s coPI who provides operational support to administrators at Alliance campuses.

Patricia L. Lang, PhD, Professor of Chemistry and acting associate dean of Honors College at Ball State University, serves as a project’s CoPI who provides support to STEM faculty about mentoring undergraduates in research.

Stephen P. Hundley, PhD, Professor of Organizational Leadership and Senior Advisor to IUPUI Chancellor, serves as a project’s CoPI who provides support to campus administrators about LSAMP program management.

Kevin Berkopes, PhD, Academic Specialist; Director of the Mathematics Assistance Center at IUPUI serves as a senior personnel of the project who provides support to the campuses about improving mathematics learning.

Campus Administrators

IUB: Martin McCrory, JD, Vice Provost for Educational Inclusion and Diversity; Chief Diversity Officer, Indiana University, Bloomington; Associate Vice President, Academic Support and Diversity, and Michael A. Edwards, PhD, clinical associate professor of environmental sciences and chemistry

IUPUI: Henry A. Hernandez, MS, lecturer in mathematics, and Tamiko N. Porter, PhD, lecturer in chemistry

IUN: Bhaskara Kopparty, PhD, professor and chair of computer science

IUSB: Linda Chen, PhD, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, and Grace W. Muna, PhD, associate professor of chemistry

BSU: Anita Gnezda, PhD, assistant professor of chemistry

ITCC: Michael C. Hall, PhD, program chair for pre-engineering.

Advisory Board

The Indiana LSAMP Advisory Board consists of seven members: Paul Ardayfio, PhD, a clinical research scientist at Eli Lilly and Company and chair of the Indiana chapter of the National Organization for the Professional Advance of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers; Kathy Cabello, MBA, president of Cabello Associates, a full-service marketing consultancy, located in Indianapolis, Indiana; James Wimbush, PhD, vice president for diversity, equity, and multicultural affairs, and dean of the University Graduate School at Indiana University; Charlene Alexander, PhD, associate provost for diversity and director of the Office of Institutional Diversity at Ball State University; Jill Robinson Kramer, MA, associate vice president for planning and research at Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana; Trudy Banta, EdD, professor of education and former senior advisor to the chancellor for academic planning at IUPUI; and LeRoy Jones, II, PhD, professor of chemistry and dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Chicago State University.


Kim S. Nguyen, Ed.D.
Indiana STEM LSAMP Project Director
STEM Education Innovation and Research Institute (SEIRI)
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
755 West Michigan Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46202-5195
Tel. (317) 274-1126